Tag Archive: VFW Post 8870 officers

New Post Officers Appointed

VFW Post 8870 Surgeon Jay Hansen
Jay Hansen


At the September August Staff meeting, Post Surgeon Charles Gaul announced his resignation from that position due to business conflicts that will not allow him to continue. Gaul, an Army veteran of Vietnam served as our Post surgeon for the past two years. 

Commander Rose Gilliland has appointed Jay Hansen, pictured at right as our new Surgeon. Hansen is a retired USAF pilot and Vietnam Veteran.

The Post Surgeon is responsible for collecting Hospital and Community Service data from members and filing required reports with the Post and the Department of Washington. 

VFW Post 8870 Adjutant Jim Murdock
Jim Murdock


At the September Post meeting, long time Post Adjutant Dick Simmons announced his resignation from that position due to chronic health issues that will not allow him to continue. Simmons, is a “Blue Water” Navy veteran of Vietnam and a retired Seattle P.I. newspaper writer. 

Commander Rose Gilliland has appointed Jim Murdock as our new Adjutant. Murdock is an Army veteran of Vietnam and has been our House Committee Chair for the past few years. We thank Dick for his long service to the post and wish him better health. 

The Post Adjutant is responsible, among other things, for minutes of Post and Staff meetings. 

New Post Officers Installed

New Post Officers Installed
Led by Commander Rose Gilliland the new Post officers take the oath.

The newly elected officers for the VFW year 2019-20 were installed at the May Post meeting in ceremonies led by Past District and Post Commander Jim Traner, in preparation for the official beginning of their term at time of the Department Convention in June.

New Post Officers Installed
Commander Mike Denton hands the gavel off to installing officer, Past District Commander Jim Traner to begn the ceremony.

Elected officers are Rose Gilliland, Commander, Carl Kurfess, Sr. Vice Commander, Duane Bowman, Jr. Vice Commander, Dennis Peterson, Quartermaster, Dan Doyle, Chaplain. Also elected were three Post Trustees; Jim Murdock, Kerry Watkins and Don Stapleton. Appointed positions were announced by incoming Commander Gilliland to include Dick Simmons, Adjutant, Don Whedon and Paul Russo, Service Officers, Jim Traner, Judge Advocate, Charles Gaul, Surgeon, John Shelton, Guard and Jim Collin, Officer of the Day. 

We congratulate all of our new officers and offer our gratitude for their willingness to serve. 

Your 2017-18 Post Officers

Commander: David M. (Mike) Denton
Senior Vice Commander: Carl F. Kurfess
Junior Vice Commander: Rose Gililand
Quartermaster: Dennis L. Peterson
Chaplain: Daniel J. Doyle
Judge Advocate: Aaron M. Terwedo
Surgeon: Al S. Boyett
1 Year Trustee: Daniel A. White
2 Year Trustee: James R. Mc Cann
3 year Trustee: James M. Traner
Adjutant: Richard F. Simmons
Service Officer: Don D. Whedon


New officers will be installed at the Post meeting, on June 13, 2017