Tag Archive: Post 8870 2018 Scholarships Awarded

Post 8870 2018 Scholarships Awarded

At the May Post meeting, our 2018 scholarships were awarded to four area high school seniors. each in the amount of $ 1,500.00. These scholarships were named to honor the following post members and their service to their country:

  1. Fred Diedrich: Fred Diedrich was a paratrooper with the 508th Parachute Infantry Regiment who jumped into Normandy on June 6th, 1944. The Fred Diedrich Scholarship was awarded to Kiara Dailer of Meadowdale H.S. Kiara will be attending Western Washington University.
  2. Amos B. Chapman: Served aboard the destroyer, USS Killen, in the Pacific as a Fire Controller in the Battles for Leyte Gulf during which the ship was under constant attack by artillery, air and Kamikaze attacks. Joseph Schafer of Kamiak H.S. will apply the Amos B. Chapman scholarship to his tuition at The University of Washington.
  3. Fred M. Apgar: During the Vietnam War, Fred was assigned to the 7th Airborne Command and Control Squadron at Udorn Royal Thai Air Force Base. As an Air Intelligence Officer, he flew 116 combat missions over Northern Laos. The Fred M. Apgar Scholarship went to our Voice of Democracy winner Olivia Olson, who will attend The University of Southern California.
  4. Buck Weaver: Buck flew 137 combat missions in his beloved P-39 and P-40 fighter aircraft. Buck flew bomber escort, dive-bombing, and combat air patrol missions in the South Pacific. Buck retired from the Air Force at the rank of Colonel in 1975. The Buck Weaver Scholarship was awarded to Sea Choi, of Lynnwood H.S., who will attend the University of California, San Diego.
Post 8870 2018 Scholarships

The Buck Weaver Scholarship is presented to Sea Choi at Lynnwood H.S.

Post 8870 2018 Scholarships

The Fred Dedrich Scholarship to Kiara Dailer at Meadowdale H.S.

Post 8870 2018 Scholarships

The Fred Apgar Scholarship to Olivia Olson at Edmonds Woodway H.S.

Post 8870 2018 Scholarships

The Amos Chapman Scholarship to Joseph Schafer at Kamiak H.S.

Post 8870 2018 Scholarships were awarded during those school’s Senior Awards Ceremonies. Fred Diedrich was unable to attend. Don Stapleton was there in his place.